Gossip!

The Lord has laid it very strongly on my heart lately not to gossip. I know that in subtle ways I have partaken of this sin in the past, and I am determined to stick a knife through it and kill it once and for all! I don’t know why I never made such a rash decision about this sin before, but I’m excited to take on the challenge now and to be aware of abstaining from it at all times, and at all costs!

The dictionary definition for gossip is:

idle talk or rumor, esp. about the personal or private affairs of others

So, that means that any time I say anything about any other person, other than myself, especially talking about something that is someone else’s “private affair” I am 100% guilty of GOSSIP!

Asian,communications,co-workers,expressions,faces,females,gossiping,gossips,offices,people,Photographs,secrets,telling secrets,whispering,women

I once heard a good definition between the difference between FLATTERY and GOSSIP:

Flattery is something that you would say to someone’s face, that you wouldn’t say behind their back.

Gossip is something that you would say behind someone’s back, that you wouldn’t say to their face.

OUCH – on both counts!

What does the Bible say about gossip:

  1. He who goes about as a slanderer reveals secrets,Therefore do not associate with a gossip. – Proverbs 20:19. – If I enter into any gossip at all, in any way, shape, or form, I risk others (rightly) not associating with me.
  2. Women must likewise be dignified, not malicious gossips, but temperate, faithful in all things. – 1 Timothy 3:11 – I am instructed to be dignified (reverent), and not to be tempted to speak about anything but the holy.
  3. A perverse man spreads strife,And a slanderer separates intimate friends. – Proverbs 16:28 – I would never want to separate between intimate friends, or even separate myself from my friends!
  4. In Romans 1, Paul speaks about “God gave them over to a depraved mind, to do those things which are not proper” which includes gossip and slander in verses 29-30. These are the fruit of a depraved mind, and these acts are not proper for a child of God.

I believe that gossip, like so many other sins, is a habit, that I have too subtly become accustomed to, and have excused for far too long. Oh, it’s subtle, but I know in my own sinful heart that I enjoy it, and I am, with God’s gracious help and Hand, going to tolerate this evil sin NO MORE!

Lord, I pray that I would not enter into a conversation that would be about anyone but myself, or YOU! I pray that I would be faithful to your Word, and that I would please you in this area. May the words of my heart, and the meditations of my mind be pleasing in your sight Oh Lord, and may every word that proceeds from my mouth glorify your HOLY name! In Jesus, I pray.

Now the God of peace, who brought up from the dead the great Shepherd of the sheep through the blood of the eternal covenant, even Jesus our Lord, equip you in every good thing to do His will, working in us that which is pleasing in His sight, through Jesus Christ, to whom be the glory forever and ever. Amen. – Hebrews 13:20-21

Bibles,books,eyeglasses,eyewear,glasses,hands,holy books,Old Testament,persons,Photographs,readers,readings,religions,religious books,scriptures,text,women

Leave a Reply

